Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships prepare scholars to bring about positive change and find solutions to the challenges faced by their home countries and host countries. These scholars in turn help to shape the future of the Commonwealth.

Scholarship Overview

  • The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS) offer students a unique opportunity to pursue a two-year Master’s degree in a low or middle-income Commonwealth country at an Association for Commonwealth Universities (ACU) Member University.
  • These scholarships provide students who are committed to creating change in their communities with a life-changing opportunity to experience a new country and culture, broaden their horizons, and build a global network that will last a lifetime.

There are two opportunities every year to apply for QECS. Cycle 1 opens in November/December and cycle 2 opens in March/April.

Host School(s)

The host universities for this cycle are:

  • The University of the South Pacific
  • Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
  • University of Mauritius
  • Papua New Guinea University of Technology
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of Venda
  • University of Colombo
  • University of Sri Jayewardenepura

Field(s) of Study

  • Master’s degrees in a broad range of subject areas.
  • The subject areas available differ according to the Host University and/or country.

What does the scholarship cover?

  • Full tuition fees
  • A living allowance (stipend) for the duration of an award
  • Return economy flights to the recipient’s host country
  • A one-off arrival allowance
  • A Research Support Grant (on request only, subject to approval)

How many scholarships are given?

Not stated

Which countries are targeted?

Citizens (or those who hold refugee status) of Commonwealth countries are welcome to apply.


Interested students must apply for a QECS award in a country other than their home country/country of citizenship, or their application will be rejected.

Refugees should list themselves as citizens of the countries that have offered them refugee status.

Am I Eligible to Apply?

To qualify for this scholarship, you should:

  • Have already completed your bachelor’s degree and have graduated with an equivalent of a 2:1 at the time of application.
  • Be a citizen, hold refugee status, or be a permanent resident in a Commonwealth country.
  • Be a new student just commencing master’s level studies.
    Be applying to pursue a master’s degree program.
  • Meet the entry requirements for the course and the university you have selected.

How do I Apply – Next Steps

  • Review the list of countries, universities, and courses for the current application cycle and select the course you want to pursue.
  • After selecting your course, visit the university website to get more details.
  • Complete the QECS application form online and submit it.
  • Next, apply for admission to your chosen university course directly to the university.
  • The selection committee will then review all the applications, after which successful applicants will be notified.

Selection Criteria

  • Academic history/references
  • Plan of Study
    Development Impact and Post-Study Outreach
  • Creating Networks

Required Documents

  • Application form and statement of purpose
  • High school certificate
  • Undergraduate transcript indicating your academic qualifications and grades
  • Two academic references
  • A scanned copy of your passport or your national ID card
  • Evidence of English language proficiency (a TOEFL or IELTS score)

Statements detailing the following:
Statement 1: Plan of study (200-400 words)
Statement 2: Development impact and post-study outreach (300-500 words)
Statement 3: Creating Networks

Closing Date:

24 May 2024

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like